Quick Picks January 31 2009

A Fine Frenzy - One Cell in the SeaFirst off, A Fine Frenzy‘s debut, (a.k.a Alison Sudol) One Cell in the Sea. I have only listened to it a handful of times, but it is a quality effort. Genre wise I’d say pop, but more leaning towards adult pop, a certain free encyclopedia says adult alternative and piano pop. The album title comes from a lyric from track two, “The Minnow & The Trout”.

Finally, I was watching a Mando Diao video before knowing who they were (at least in the video), and thought they were pretty good. I knew of them, but have not got around to listening to them too much. So before I realised, I was thinking a British band, along the lines of Kasabian (another band I need to listen to more of). Anyway, they are Swedish! I had watched the video for “Long Before Rock ‘n’ Roll”. They have a new release coming out February 13, called Give Me Fire.

Leave a Reply

