Quick Picks June 5 2009

iamI’ll start with an album I just started listening to recently, for the reason she has her sophomore album out now. The artist I am referring to is Chrisette Michele, and her debut I Am. I would definitely recommend it, but not quite sure I’d give it an album of the week feature. I would say it is good enough, just possibly it did not click with me that much.

It has a vintage feel to it, which I suppose due in part to the neo soul genre. Salaam Remi did some production work on it, both he and Mark Ronson worked on Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black, which has a very well done vintage feel to it.

Now I have to get to listening to her sophomore effort I referred to earlier, that being Epiphany.

MeandarminiMy final quick pick is Emilíana Torrini‘s latest, Me and Armini, which I touched on a very little bit about in my previous post. I probably only listened to her previous effort, Fisherman’s Woman, a handful of times at most, but I have to say I prefer her latest.

Me and Armini seems a bit more up tempo, and perhaps more playful (that just came to mind). I recommend “Jungle Drum” for a short but sweet creative track from the album (clocking in at 2:13). “Gun” is another good one. I can imagine hearing it backing a smart suspenseful action movie scene with the title object definitely playing a role.

Leave a comment