Kylie Minogue – X

KyliexI had a hard time deciding whether I would make this album of the week or not. I decided to just write a plain review. I believe in my opinion it just falls short of being an album of the week.

I have really only listened to it a few times, and it has slowly grown on me, so maybe I would be prone to call it album of the week later on.

Anyway… X is almost two years old already. It came out just over four years after Body Language, and just over six years after Fever. A respectable amount of time between albums. Fever being the album that she once again found commercial success with, at least in North America, as she did well with Light Years just over a year prior in the U.K. and Australia.

X is definitely still Kylie style wise, however if does not quite feel as much dance orientated as Fever, and not umm sensual like Body Language. A tad unrelated, I just noticed Emilíana Torrini helped write “Slow”, as well as “Someday” from Body Language. I would not have thought so from Fisherman’s Woman, but after hearing Me and Armini it seems plausible! I digress.

“2 Hearts” is catchy, and worthy to be the first single. It turns out it is actually a cover, originally done by Kish Mauve on their 2005 self titled ep!

“Wow” and “In My Arms” are two more quality tracks, both are also singles. My favourite track not selected as a single would be “Speakerphone”. It was produced by the Swedish duo Bloodshy & Avant, composed of Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg. They also produced and help write another similar track in feel from the album, “Nu-di-ty”. They are known for their catchy numbers, from Britney Spears’ “Radar” and “Toxic”, to former S Club 7 member Rachel Stevens’ “Sweet Dreams My LA Ex”, and Christina Milian’s “AM to PM”. The latter two are both the first single from the respective artist’s first album.

All in all, another solid release from the Australian Kylie. I would say this one is her album that is the most electropop. I’d say since Impossible Princess, but I suppose that would be more classified as trip hop. It has been a while since I listened to it.

2 thoughts on “Kylie Minogue – X

Leave a Reply

