Name’s the Same for $100 Alex

Metallica and Kid Cudi – My World.

Two quite different songs, yet two very good songs. Metallica’s My World from St. Anger released June 5 2003, and Kid Cudi’s My World from Man on the Moon: The End of Day released September 15 2009.

I really enjoyed St. Anger, and “My World” is no exception. I really do not understand what is not to be liked. However I digress.

From Metallica’s track, I get the meaning as being, at least personally, that My World is my life and what it contains, and you cannot have it, as per the song lyrics.

Not only do I not know the answer
I don’t even know what the question is

are lyrics I have had stuck in my head numerous times.

For about ten seconds prior to those lines is a nice instrumental bit. Of course it definitely is not long enough.

Kid Cudi’s “My World”, as I mentioned in the LP of the week entry on the album, is a good spine chiller track.

The meaning from the track is quite different. Basically stating how back in the day he stated he’d be the “hot shit”, and well, as Billy Cravens sings, he told you so.

I think many people think that, and well, it is good to dream, it is also wise to be realistic. To make reference to another hip hop track, Nas’s “I Can”, and I quote,

I know I can (I know I can)
Be what I wanna be (be what I wanna be)
If I work hard at it (if I work at it)
I’ll be where I want to be (I’ll be where I want to be)

That’s it for this entry. Jeopardy reference of course, category wise, and also heralding the old days when single Jeopardy still had clues for $100!

Leave a Reply

