Marina and the Diamonds – The Family Jewels

After just one listen, I thought the Marina and the Diamonds debut long player, The Family Jewels was quite good.

I watched the video for “I Am Not a Robot”, (linked on my twitter @tmmblog) and it just features Marina (Marina Diamandis), however the makeup, and what she is wearing on her face in the video are definitely interesting. Especially the sparkles substituted for lipstick and some eye makeup!

Wikipedia calls it indie pop and new wave. The new wave being evident on tracks such as “The Outsider”.

Definitely worth checking out if you like music coming out of the UK these days.

All the music video links:

I Am Not a Robot
Mowgli’s Road
Hollywood

Now, I have to listen to New Amerykah Part One (4th World War) again so I can listen to New Amerykah Part Two (Return of the Ankh)!

2 thoughts on “Marina and the Diamonds – The Family Jewels

Leave a Reply

