Bad Religion quote #2

From the first Bad Religion long player, How Could Hell Be Any Worse?, and the song “Fuck Armageddon…This Is Hell” comes quote #2, actually a multi quote post. Three for one!

There’s people out there that say I’m no good
Because I don’t believe in things that I should

Cough, religion, cough. Oh sorry. (For coughing).

Countries manufacture bombs and guns
To kill your brother for something that he hasn’t even done

That is fairly self explanatory.

Smog is ruining my lungs, but aren’t sorry they’ve done wrong
They hide behind their lies that they’re helping everyone

Case in point, Exxon Mobil Corporation. Especially with their new research and development advertisements. Not to forget bp (formerly The British Petroleum Company) and their mess with the Canadian Oil Sands. To be kind, and not exclude, I’ll say big oil in general.

Brian Baker, Bad Religion guitarist, and member since 1994 said how “the meat of Bad Religion is in the message” (see Brian Baker Guitar Lessons on Youtube.). With that in mind, I think it is good to be educated, and you cannot go wrong using Bad Religion lyrics as a launching point.

With that in mind, I’d recommend reading It’s the Crude, Dude: War, Big Oil and the Fight for the Planet by Linda McQuaig. Among others, there’s also Tar Sands: Dirty Oil and the Future of a Continent by Andrew Nikiforuk. I have not read the latter, but have to get to reading it, among others. To get started, read about the oil sands on Wikipedia.

Commentary from Brett Gurewitz on recording How Could Hell Be Any Worse?, and full lyrics at badreligion.com.

3 thoughts on “Bad Religion quote #2

  1. I there!
    Thanks for you comment and, finally, I have a WordPress log-in so I can comment, which is something I have been meaning to do for ages.

    Thanks for the reminder about ‘Be Good Tanyas’, who I had forgotten all about. The bizarre thing is that in you most recent (I think, unless you have been busy in the last couple of hours) post you mentioned Marina & The Diamonds and Ladyhawke, both of which I was fortunate enough to see live in 2009. In my opinion they can both cut it live. Keep up the good work!

    Richard (Thoughts On Music)

Leave a Reply

