Brian Setzer Orchestra and Shad (Festival International de Jazz de Montreal night 1)

The Brian Setzer Orchestra was the official opening show. Similar to Stevie Wonder last year. I was surprised that there were so many people, but hey, this is Montreal. I am Not sure about the official estimates, but easily over 100 000, and probably 150 000 plus adding on people who had poor views, or where watching on screens nearby, and people who came and went.

The music was quite good. I am not too familiar with his work, I know I heard some of his stuff in the late 90s (The Dirty Boogie) when swing had a fairly decent following, along with the Cherry Poppin’ Daddies, and Big Bad Voodoo Daddy. I know I would have appreciated it more if I was much closer to the stage!

I watched about 40 minutes of the Brian Setzer Orchestra, as Shad, Canadian hip hop up and comer, was playing on another stage. I caught the last 30 minutes of his set, and it was very good. I saw him perform at last years Warped Tour as well, and it seems he is definitely getting better. It also helped that this time around I was more familiar with his music. Definitely worth checking out live, and his recorded albums as well. TSOL his third album was released May 25.

Shad’s official website, shadk.com

I don’t think Brian Setzer needs any more promotional help, but his official website anyway, briansetzer.com.

Leave a Reply

