KT Tunstall Tiger Suit cover, homage to Katharine McPhee?

Upon writing my post for the double LP of the week featuring KT Tunstall’s first two albums, I saw the new album cover for Tiger Suit for the first time. It took a moment, and then I realised, the sweater KT is wearing reminded me of Katharine McPhee’s debut album cover.

Of course as I mentioned in that post briefly, a fair amount of KT Tunstall’s American success is due in part to Katharine McPhee. Katharine McPhee being a contestant on season five of American Idol chose to sing KT’s “Black Horse and the Cherry Tree” on American Idol’s Billboard week. At the time it was #79 on the Billboard charts, the following week it was #23.

KT Tunstall herself is not a fan of American Idol type shows because they are “completely controlled”. Despite this, KT allowed her song to be used, she initially thought, “‘Oh, no. I don’t need this but I do need this,’ because I really–my dream is to be able to tour America in a bus with a band and play shows. That’s what I want to do with my life, and not just America but the rest of the world as well.” She concluded no one would have told Katharine McPhee to sing her song, “because no one fucking knew it.” So in the end KT was “grateful to her [Katharine] that she picked me out.”

Therefore it would not be a surprise to me if indeed wearing the same, or very similar sweater as Katharine did on her debut is a nod of thanks to her in helping her gain her commercial success.

Katharine McPhee was the runner-up in that season of American Idol, losing to Taylor Hicks. Her self titled debut was released January 30, 2007. And more recently, she released her second album, Unbroken, this past January 5. Perhaps KT is returning the favour as well.

Both album covers:

One thought on “KT Tunstall Tiger Suit cover, homage to Katharine McPhee?

Leave a Reply

