Grand Theft Auto III, 10 years to the day.

Today, October 22, marks 10 years to the day that Grand Theft Auto III was released. No doubt one of the greatest video games ever. Although it itself featured very little well-known music, it certainly set the table for the games to come. That is not to discount the previous games in the series, however GTA III, being the first 3D game, and first Grand Theft Auto game on Playstation 2, made its impact known.

One of my favourite radio stations is Double Clef FM, hosted by the fictional Morgan Merryweather. Classical music and opera just fit oh so well in the game. Among the tracks were the “O mio babbino caro” from Gianni Schicchi and “La donna è mobile” from Rigoletto (“And now more hits from the Sixties, 1760s that is!”). Ones I quickly grew fond of, and likely helped with my appreciation for the genre.

Although I did not know Scientist at the time, I would later listen to his great dub album, Scientist Rids the World of the Evil Curse of the Vampires. K-Jah featured a few tracks from that album.

Game Radio FM featured Royce da 5’9″, Black Rob, and Agallah being the most known. And the somewhat dark feeling hip hop worked great on the streets of Liberty City. Agallah and Sean Price’s “Rising to the Top”, and Royce da 5’9″‘s “I’m The King” stand out for me.

Much of the soundtrack still perplexes me, for instance, Flashback 95.6, featuring Debbie Harry’s “Rush Rush”, from the Scarface Soundtrack of all places! And that is not the only track from Scarface soundtrack. Also included is Elizabeth Daily’s “I’m Hot Tonight”, whose singing career spans all of three paragraphs on Wikipedia!

Here’s to another ten years driving around in fictionalised versions of real cities listening to great music (and talk)!

Look:

Listen:
Grand Theft Auto III micro mix

6 thoughts on “Grand Theft Auto III, 10 years to the day.

  1. The GTA series is awesome. Especially the radio channels. In fact, I acquired quite a number of songs after hearing them in GTA III and subsequently in GTA IV. One of my best gaming experiences!

    1. Could not agree more! GTA III just worked very well, and then adding more known (and lesser known also!) stuff in VC/SA/IV, yeah, definitely made for great music, and radio content in general! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. In a different Grand Theft Auto III, 10 years anniversary trailer, “O mio babbino caro” had been remixed. Does anyone knows who did that remix?

    1. I’ll take a listen and see if I can figure it out. My guess is it may be hard to find an answer, but if I do, I’ll write back here. And thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

