The second coming of British female artists!

For the record, I am not religious (at all), I just like the sound of ‘second coming!’

Followers of this blog, or of me on Twitter will know I quite like female singers, and British ones especially as well! With that, comes this post!

Around the last few years of last decade, numerous talented female artists were coming out of the United Kingdom, Florence and the Machine, Ellie Goulding, VV Brown, Paloma Faith and Little Boots to name a few. Well, three and some years later, they are now releasing their follow-up albums. Here is a few that I know of off-hand.

Florence and the Machine of course released her sophomore effort, Ceremonials last fall.

Speech Debelle, the winner of the Mercury Prize in 2009 for her debut Speech Therapy (beating out acts such as Bat for Lashes, Glasvegas, Kasabian, and La Roux among others), released her second album, Freedom of Speech in February of this year. Read my review of her debut from August of 2010. Her genre is hip hop, but I like to think of it as organic hip hop, as her debut was made with instrumentation not made from computers. I have yet to hear her new album.

Marina and the Diamonds also quietly released her new album, Electra Heart on April 27th. Quietly here in North America anyway (likely more publicity and promotion in the UK). I had watched the two preview, or teaser videos late last summer, but had not watched the newer ones, not being sure which was going to be found on the album. Watch the aforementioned videos, Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4 (Part 4 being the first single). I have yet to hear her new album, but I am a big fan of her first, The Family Jewels.

I cannot say I am really a Pixie Lott fan, she has a few decent tunes from what I have heard, but nothing too amazing. Regardless, she released her second album, Young Foolish Happy, last November.

As mentioned in my last blog post, Paloma Faith‘s new album, Fall to Grace, was just released on May 28.

Alexandra Burke‘s new album, Heartbreak on Hold, is just around the corner, it is released on June 4.

In the works presently are new albums from La Roux, Ellie Goulding, Little Boots, VV Brown, and Diana Vickers.

No word on a new Eliza Doolittle album yet. Also, the third Noisettes album is in the works as well!

Click to continue for some embedded music videos from the aforementioned artists.

3 thoughts on “The second coming of British female artists!

  1. That is a great post!
    By the way I believe that Natasha Khan (aka Bat For Lashes) is recording her third album at the moment but no title/release that I know of. The new one by Marina is good and, in one way at least. parallels Bat’s ‘Two Suns’ in that on it on some of the songs she inhabits an alter ego.

    If new UK female acoustic is your thing then here are a few suggestions that come to mind as I’m writing (it was to be two but it ended up as four)!

    Pip Mountjoy – ‘Louisiana EP’ (http://soundcloud.com/pipmountjoy

    Rachel Sermanni – ‘Black Currents EP’ (http://www.isthismusic.com/rachel-sermanni-4)

    Lucy Rose (http://soundcloud.com/lucy-rose)

    Nina Nesbitt – ‘The Apple Tree EP’ – (http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/edinburgh/17-year-old-edinburgh-singer-nina-nesbitt-rides-high-in-charts-1-2257967)

    I chose the links based simply on what I thought most informative and/or in keeping with my own view on the music.

  2. Thanks for all the artists and links! Will give ’em a listen for sure!

    I like what I have heard of Bat for Lashes, but really have to listen to more. Same with Amy Macdonald. I have family roots in Scotland, so I am definitely a sucker for Scottish stuff too!

Leave a Reply

