The Gaslight Anthem – Sink or Swim review

Fourth review. A new review every two days for the month of July! Being scheduled for the even number days. I may be a little late, be it a few hours, or as much as a day, but I will try to be on time, and definitely keep pace!

I do not believe I have listened to an entire Gaslight Anthem album start to finish (until now!), but have definitely heard many individual tracks, most notably “The ’59 Sound” from their second album of the same name. It was the 389th video I featured in my Music Video of the Day feature on Twitter (watch for hashtag #MVOD)!

On with the actual review.

With Bruce Springsteen calling himself a fan of The Gaslight Anthem, these guys definitely deserve a listen just based on that fact!

Sink or Swim, their debut was released five years ago, on May 29, 2007! It was released on XOXO Records, which seems to be an independent New Jersey label. Which fits, as The Gaslight Anthem are from New Brunswick, New Jersey (only about 45 minutes away from where Bruce Springsteen was born!).

This album has a punk rock feel, but leans more closely to rock in my opinion, with a definite Springsteen influence, playing his style of working class rock, which actually fits in well with the punk rock ethos. Brian Fallon, lead singer of The Gaslight Anthem actually has said how they never set out to sound like Springsteen, so likely it is the Jersey Shore sound influence finding its way into the music.

“Red in the Morning” is definitely a punk rock tune, with shades of Dropkick Murphy’s meets, yes, Springsteen. As much as I would prefer to leave out the Springsteen comparison, based on what Brian Fallon has said, I think it is inevitable, yet, I still very much enjoy their sound on its own. With that said, “The Navesink Banks” could very well fit in with some of Bruce’s slower more folk/Americana influenced songs. “I’da Called You Woody, Joe” is a tribute to Joe Strummer, of course frontman to The Clash, which continues to give an idea of where this band are coming from (or at the very least the lead singer).

As a whole, this is a very good set of songs. No doubt an indication of what was to come. I will definitely seek out their other 2 albums to listen to. And their new album, Handwritten, is set for a July 24 release!

If you have any albums you would like to see me review this month, send me a tweet, or contact me via the ‘contact me’ section of this blog!

One thought on “The Gaslight Anthem – Sink or Swim review

Leave a Reply

