The music of Grand Theft Auto V

 

It is finally official, Grand Theft Auto 5 will be released early next year (I predict April, like GTA:IV).

Slowly, since Grand Theft Auto III, it has become my favourite video game series. One reason being the music within the game.

Already, the music used in the two trailers impresses.

The first trailer features “Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake” by the English rock band Small Faces. It was released in 1968 on the album of the same name!

The second trailer features Stevie Wonder’s “Skeletons” from his 1987 album Characters. Both tracks work perfectly, and continue with the Grand Theft Auto games using lesser known music, be it lesser known by a well-known artist, or lesser known, period. For example, the former, The Who’s “Eminence Front” in Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, or several tracks by dub artist Scientist in Grand Theft Auto 3.

Take a look/listen for yourself:

and

Bonus:

The second trailer was released last Wednesday, during that week, I had a GTA theme week on #MVOD (Music Video of the Day) on Twitter. Click to see all seven Tweets/links to the videos.

And, listen to both songs on Grooveshark.

2 thoughts on “The music of Grand Theft Auto V

  1. GTA’s music hasn’t been appealing for me since III or Vice City so I’m not sure I would listen to the radio much in this game. I will always love the talk radio however, it’s so funny and entertaining! The best for me is San Andreas so I hope that gets better too.

    By the way, I was wondering if you would like to read and comment on your opinion if Rockstar games ever included a female playable character in GTA here:http://nynyonlinex.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/if-rockstar-ever-included-a-female-protagonist-in-a-gta-game/

    1. As a music fanatic, I can listen to all the stations and dig them, some more than others of course!

      Sure, I’ll check out the post! I’m not sure I can see it happening, but maybe, hard to say!

      And thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

