Best of 2012 from gals I want to get with and/or be friends with!

Semi controversial post (or not), but decided to post it, as it is mostly harmless, and I am a single guy!

Of course I would love to say Rihanna or Lana Del Rey was my girlfriend (although I have no idea what they are like in person), but with many such female musicians I would just love to hang out with them too!

Marina and the Diamonds – Electra Heart

Marina and the Diamonds - Electra Heart

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am pretty sure this was my most anticipated release of 2012, and it delivered! I like The Family Jewels slightly better, however I still really enjoy the very electronic nature of her second album, and how she hyped it with the videos:

♡ PART 1: FEAR AND LOATHING ♡
♡ PART 2: RADIOACTIVE ♡
♡ PART 3: “THE ARCHETYPES” ♡
♡ PART 4: “PRIMADONNA” ♡
♡ PART 5: “SU-BARBIE-A” ♡
♡ PART 6: “POWER & CONTROL” ♡
♡ PART 7: “HOW TO BE A HEARTBREAKER” ♡

Emeli Sandé – Our Version of Events

Emeli Sandé - Our Version of Events

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A very much anticipated album by all. I am quite impressed by her as a person, she seems very humble, and she put off getting into music full-time while going to university. Read my artist profile guest post over at LadyIndie.com, and my concert review on this blog (spoiler alert, see her live!!).

Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops

Lindi Ortega - Cigarettes and Truckstops

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saw her at Pop Montreal 2011, she is just as good looking as her pics would suggest! Oh, the music is good too! And Canadian!

Santigold – Master of My Make-Believe

Santigold - Master of My Make-Believe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another collection of great songs, especially my fave at the moment, “Disparate Youth”.

Jessie Ware – Devotion

Jessie Ware - Devotion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Noisettes – Contact

Noisettes - Contact

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lead singer Shingai Shoniwa is the full package, beautiful, talented, awesome voice, songwriter and so on. Their third album.

Lana Del Rey – Born to Die

Lana del Rey - Born to Die

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not an utterly amazing album, but stylistically very impressive in that she and the music very much feels like a throwback to a bygone era.

More (but with no words):

Lianne La Havas – Is Your Love Big Enough

Lianne La Havas - Is Your Love Big Enough?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar

First Aid Kit - The Lion's Roar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Taylor Swift – Red

Taylor Swift - Red

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know I am missing a lot, and there are plenty of albums I have not even heard in full, such as Cold Specks, Esperanza Spalding, Kimbra, etc. etc etc!

Even more after the jump:

Fiona Apple – The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do

Fiona Apple - The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than The Driver of The Screw And Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Crystal Castles – III

Crystal Castles - III

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alice Glass seems like a badass!

Sleigh Bells – Reign of Terror

Sleigh Bells - Reign of Terror

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So does Alexis Krauss!

Kellie Pickler – 100 Proof

Kellie Pickler - 100 Proof

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She shaved her head in support of raising awareness to breast cancer, that is real badass!

I also posted this as I am curious as to whether I will end up on largehearted boy’s 2012 Year-End Online Music Lists!

Leave a Reply

