#SoundCloudSunday – Alternative Tentacles

Alternative Tentacles is Jello Biafra’s record label, formed when he was still a part of the Dead Kennedys. The label’s main genre would be punk, but easily expands to alternative genres such as garage, rock, metal, spoken word, and more! You name it, chances are they may release it, given the right ideology. And in this case is left leaning.

I had the chance to see Jello Biafra this summer, playing with his current project, Jello Biafra and the Guantanamo School of Medicine. It was quite the show, great music, great messages, and of course very entertaining as a whole!

Take a listen to “Clean as a Thistle” (click ‘Continue reading’ at the bottom to read the lyrics) from their 2009 debut release, Audacity Of Hype:

And “Dot Com Monte Carlo” from their 2011 EP, Enhanced Methods of Questioning:

The new Jello Biafra and the Guantanamo School of Medicine album, White People and the Damage Done, is released March 19!

Over the years they have released plenty of other great records from great bands, including the Subhumans (the Canadian one, as there are two different punk rock bands, one from Canada, one from the U.K.). They re-recorded the tracks from their debut album and released the album as Same Thoughts Different Day in 2010, as a defunct San Francisco record label head was claiming ownership of their original material, but the Subhumans had decided to “challenge to their ownership of their own material”. Lyrics (and original version of the song) to this one after the break as well.

 

The singer from the UK Subhumans band (two different punk rock bands, one from Canada, one from the U.K.) is also the front man for a sweet ska punk band Citizen Fish. They have been around since 1990 and are still going. Their most recent LP came out in 2011 on Alternative Tentacles, Goods. Listen to “Overseas”:

One of my favourite Alternative Tentacles records (that I own on vinyl!) is another of Jello Biafra’s projects along with Ministry members Al Jourgensen, Paul Barker, and Jeff Ward, Lard’s debut The Power Of Lard. It unfortunately does not have anything on SoundCloud, but two old-time MP3s can be downloaded on the album page. I especially recommend the title track!

Alternative Tentacles have their own podcast, the bATcast. Along with a blog. More links including their YouTube channel below (I have embedded a Jello spoken word video after all the lyrics).

What would an Alternative Tentacles post be without some political links! Given Jello’s present project, here are some links about closing Guantanamo Bay:

Close Guantánamo via ACLU
Guantánamo: In his second term Obama must correct human rights failure via Amnesty International.

Both links can be further explored as they have a wealth of information.

Alternative Tentacles:

on SoundCloud
on Twitter
on YouTube
on Facebook
official site

SoundCloudSunday request? Tweet, or leave a comment!

Clean As A Thistle

When the elite few
Paid to elect me
Promised y’all I’d clean up
All the filth around here

Spread some dirty lies
‘Bout my opponent’s past
All the while I danced behind
That Family Values ® mask

Works every time
My opponent’s penis
Is the great threat of our time

And I love it
Yeh eh eh Yeh eh eh
I love it
Yeh eh eh Yeh eh eh

To the sheep I preach
The gospel of the Lord
When I’m with you, baby
It’s the gospel of Irving Klaw

When the full moon rise
Let me feel you baby
Don’t you want to keep your job?

Got a can of coke
And a black corvette
Clarence peeping Thomas
Wants you ridin’ his broom stick

And dontcha know that I love it
Yeh eh eh Yeh eh eh
I love it
Yeh eh eh Yeh eh eh

I’m clean as a thistle
I’m clean as a thistle
Sharp little thistle
Spiny little thistle
Best you make your plans
Around mine

Before I do away
With this sin and scum, aw right
Gotta see it for myself
With my bare naked eye
Driver, take me to the sleaze
Don’t you know who I am?
Let me in!
Okay, okay, okay, ok, ok
Here’s a $50
Now will you forget I’m here

President McMuffin
Cigar caked with goo
Opinion polls state clearly
Man, I’d fuck her too

Bible-thumping gents
Stage an impeachment
While they get it on
At night on top of their desks

Peek-a-boo and wretch
Republican buttocks
Flapping skyward in the wind

Lie to start a war
Killing millions
Ain’t impeachable
Like wayward weenie moistening

That’s why I love it
Yeh eh eh Yeh eh eh
I love it
Yeh eh eh Yeh eh eh

Clean as a thistle
Clean as a thistle
Spiked little thistle
Sticky little thistle
Yield if you wanna survive

Big Picture

(Mike Graham)
Incorrect Thoughts, 1980
Pissed Off . . . with Good Reason, 1996
Same Thoughts, Different Day, 2010

The factories have been looking for me
They’ve been talking among themselves
Trying to get me for their shelves
There’s a nine-to-fiver slot empty for me
It’s the best that they have got
But it’s not right for me
I don’t fit the big picture
I don’t fit the big picture

The big structure has been trying to get me
They’ve been trying every day to help me find my way
Fill out these forms for us
Do your best for us
Cause all we want from you
Is to tell you what to do
I don’t fit the big picture
I don’t fit the big picture

I don’t wanna play the game
I don’t want be the same
As all the people on the street
Who always look so beat
Who walk like every step
Is the last one they may get

The factories have been looking for me
They’ve been talking among themselves
Trying to get me for their shelves
Fill out these forms for us
Do your best for us
Cause all we want from you
Is to tell you what to do

I don’t fit the big picture
I don’t fit the big picture
I don’t fit the big picture
I won’t fit the big picture

Original version from 1980’s Incorrect Thoughts:

Leave a Reply

